Mongolian Step presents

Classic meets Steppe

20 October 2017 in the Concert Hall of UdK Berlin

“When classical music meets its traditional Mongolian counterpart, it’s as if a Lipizzaner from Vienna’s Spanish Riding School were facing a wild stallion from the steppes.”

Artists

Baritone Amartuvshin Enkhbat

The young Mongolian baritone Amartuvshin Enkhbat caused an international sensation in 2015 when he won the Dame Joan Sutherland Audience Prize at the BBC’s international Cardiff Singer of the World competition and was named Mongolia’s cultural ambassador. Following performances as Rigoletto at the Arena di Verona Opera and the Teatro San Carlo, he will now be travelling to Berlin to present his phenomenal voice with its unmistakable timbre. He has arrived at this point in his life after a highly unusual personal journey. He developed his warm baritone sound as a youngster by learning overtone singing and the traditional Mongolian long song, in which every syllable is held for an extended period of time. The songs are used to calm the animals – horses and sheep – that still play an important role in the lives of the people who inhabit the Mongolian steppe.

Enkhbat was born in 1986 in the remote province of Sükhbaatar and the first audience he sang for indeed consisted not only of the grandparents who raised him, but also sheep, goats and horses. Enkhbat attended primary and secondary school…

…in Sükhbaatar. Even though he had few people to assist him and little musical training, he repeatedly won singing competitions at local festivals. Yet as a youngster he never considered a career as a singer until he visited Ulaanbaatar, the capital of Mongolia, at the age of 18. While there he was encouraged to appear at a youth festival. He so impressed the jury with his highly unusual singing that one of the jury members eventually convinced him to enrol at the University of Arts and Culture in Ulaanbaatar and study opera singing. Founded in 1990, the university had only begun to develop a curriculum. Enkhbat’s formal training has thus been limited and he admits that he still only rarely relies on written music, preferring to learn his part by hearing it sung. When he prepares for a role, he listens to recordings of famous artists on YouTube from midnight to dawn before developing his own interpretation of the role. He can do so effortlessly, something he has demonstrated, along with his very special style, during numerous performances given at some of the world’s most prestigious concert halls and opera houses. He has also won diverse prizes at national and international singing competitions, for example the Mongolian National Competition for Young Opera Singers (2009, 2nd Prize), the international opera competition BAIKAL in Ulan-Ude, Russia (2011, 1st Prize), the Tchaikovsky Competition in St. Petersburg (2011, 2nd Prize and Audience Prize) and the Operalia Competition in Beijing (2012, 1st Prize).

His repertoire includes, among other roles, Escamillo in Carmen and Giorgio Germont in La Traviata. This year he will give guest performances singing the title role in Verdi’s Rigoletto in Kiel, Naples and Tel Aviv.

Despite his international career, Enkhbat still likes to sing for horses. “I sing for my animals the same way I sing at the State Opera or the Ballet Theatre or, soon, at La Scala,” he says. This nostalgia for and connection to his homeland – the expansive Mongolian steppe – provides him with inspiration and his open-minded attitude, which makes it possible for him to interpret well-known roles in Western operas in his own unique way.

Pianist Odgerel Sampilnorov

The moment she touches the piano keys, everything else seems to stand still. With the incredible lightness of her playing, the young artist breathes new life, note by note, into the pieces she performs, even those that are already well known. While listening, you can almost sense the places she is drawing inspiration from for her unique performance. As she herself puts it, her main sources are nature and its landscapes, painting and, not least, the people in her life.

Odgerel Sampilnorov is one of Mongolia’s best known pianists. She grew up in Ulaanbaatar in the 1980s in a small Soviet flat typical of the era. Her mother taught sport; her father was a basketball player. She discovered her love of music early on and began taking piano lessons at the age of seven, playing on a Russian upright. The rest of the story reads like a fairy tale: As a young woman she herself gave piano lessons. The father of one of her students invited her to his summer camp so she could play for the guests there. Her playing enchanted one guest in particular: Gabriele Menegatti, Italy’s ambassador to China at the time, who helped arrange a scholarship from the Italian government.That allowed the talented young artist to begin studying at the conservatory in Perugia in 2006.

She graduated summa cum laude, one of the 16 best students in her year. In 2010, she was awarded the Luigi Castellani Scholarship, one of Italy’s most prestigious music prizes. During her studies she participated in master classes with professors such as Sergio Perticaroli, Maxim Mogilevsky, Bart Van Oort, Ivary Ilia, Michele Campanella, Valerij Voskabojnikov, Stefan Boisten and Luca Monti. From 2011 to 2015 she gained further experience at the International Piano Academy “Incontri col Maestro” in Imola under the direction of Stefano Fiuzzi. Sampilnorov is now living and performing in Ulan-bator once again.

 

Concerts (selection)

2010, she performed as a soloist on the historical piano Erard with the Chamber Orchestra at the National Gallery of Umbria.
2011, she opened the Opening Ceremony of the Auditorium of Perugia “St.Francesco al prato” with the Symphony Orchestra of Perugia and conductor Carlo Palleschi.
2015, she played Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto with the Mongolian Philharmonic Orchestra (Maestro Nyamdash Dashtseren) for the Virtuoso Gala Concert at the Opera and Ballet Theatre of Mongolia.
Odgerel gave solo recitals in Beijing, Hong Kong, Rome and other cities of Italy and held concerts in Spain and Germany as well.

Morin Khuur Player Bat-ochir Araanz

The morin khuur (horsehead fiddle) makes audible the vastness of the Mongolian steppe. Galloping horses, whinnying, the sound of wind rushing through the mountains, clouds sailing rapidly across an infinite sky – all of that is suggested by the amazing sounds produced by Araanz Bat-Ochir when he softly draws his bow across the morin khuur, widely regarded as Mongolia’s national instrument.

Born in Ulaanbaatar, Bat-Ochir began studying at the Music and Dance College of Mongolia in 1986, although he had first encountered the morin khuur – an instrument of myth and legend – much earlier. His father constructed horsehead fiddles and Bat-Ochir watched as he carefully washed and boiled the horse hairs, lengthening them for use as strings in the bow. He observed his father as he carved the horse’s head that decorates the fiddle’s neck. Yet the truly magic moment for him was when his father first played a fiddle he had just made, coaxing from it the most beautiful of melodies. That is how, even as a child, Bat-Ochir came to play the morin khuur. It was therefore no surprise…

… that he majored in this instrument at the Music and Dance College. His teachers included M. Baasankhuu and the well-known performer Ts. Batchuluun. Even before getting his degree, Bat-Ochir became director of the National Morin Khuur Ensemble. In 1993, he performed as a soloist at the State Folk Ensemble of Song and Dance. Since 2002 he has been sharing his knowledge and expertise by teaching others how to play the morin khuur at the Music and Dance College.

Bat-Ochir is one of the most renowned morin khuur players in Mongolia. His repertoire ranges from traditional Mongolian and classical compositions to soul music. He not only plays the morin khuur, he engages with it on a theoretical level, having published academic treatises on the subject in addition to having made numerous recordings of his own playing. Consequently, not only will he be performing at the UdK in Berlin, he will also give a lecture on 25 October 2017 at Humboldt University on the origins and development of the morin khuur.

Concerts (selection)

  • 1992 Concert at the Mongolian State Philharmonic
  • 2008 Concert at the Mongolian State Opera, together with Japanese harpist Takeo Junko and with Maestro Tuulaikhuu
  • More than five solo concerts in Japan to introduce the morin khuur and Mongolian throat singing
  • 2013 Solo concert at the Tokyo Art University

Solo and chamber-music concerts in Japan, Russia, China, Taiwan, the Czech Republic, Poland, Germany, France, Belgium, the Netherlands, Uzbekistan, Kirgizstan, the United States and Korea.

Violinist Lisa Werhahn

Playing the violin is an integral part of Lisa Werhahn’s life. This inherent connection with her instrument is reflected in her expressive style and her versatility. A native of Berlin, Werhahn is a much sought after performer of contemporary and classical chamber music. Yet her repertoire includes pieces that go far beyond these musical genres.

She began learning the violin at a young age by taking lessons from Tomasz Tomaszewski. Later she studied at the UdK Berlin with Isabelle Faust and in Bern with Benjamin Schmid. She completed her postgraduate studies with Friedemann Eichhorn at the University of Music Franz Liszt in Weimar, graduating with honours. In addition, she received a scholarship from the Alfred Töpfer Foundation for the Concerto 21 master class.

Werhahn was a member of the Lucerne Festival Academy Orchestra, where she played under the direction of Pierre Boulez. In the 2011/2012 season, she also performed as a second violin at the Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden.

Since 2015 she has been a member of the KNM string quartet, an…

… offshoot of the Neue Musik Berlin chamber ensemble. Tours with various ensembles have taken her to several countries in Europe and America, as well as Brazil, Japan, Korea and India. Werhahn is also a founding member of the Swedish ensemble o/modernt kammarorkester under the direction of Hugo Ticciati. The ensemble performs an almost adventurously diverse – and therefore decidedly interesting – range of concert programmes in Sweden and other countries. Its repertoire extends from arrangements of medieval motets and works by Bach and classical modernists to folklore, Sting, minimal music and improvisation. Renowned soloists such as Anne Sofie von Otter, Nils Landgren and Evelyn Glennie have performed with the ensemble.

As part of März Musik 2017, Werhahn joined with Theodor Flindell to perform the piece Love Song by Alvin Lucier at Radialsystem Berlin. In June, she will give Serbian composer Snezana Nesic’s violin concerto its world premiere in Hannover.

In addition to her activities as a violinist, Werhahn works in various music projects involving children and adolescents. As the initiator of the Experimentelle Musikvermittlung programme, she has realised a number of projects for young people, including the Musikfest Bern 2009 and projects at schools in Berlin.

This work is a source of inspiration for Werhahn. In view of the children’s unbiased attitudes towards music and their openness and curiosity, the violinist continually re-examines her own approach to the world of sound. Thus, the children become both learners and teachers at the same time.

Concerts (selection)

2005      huddersfield contemporary music festival, Grieghalle Bergen | BIT20 Ensemble | HK Gruber | Lasse Thoressen | Lop, Lokk og Linjer, HK Gruber Frankenstein

2005+2007 Concertmaster Sommer Oper Bamberg | Till Fabian Weser E T A Hoffmann Theater Bamberg | Puccini TOSCA, IL TABARRO, Leoncavallo IL BAJAZZO

2008      B. Bartók 6. String Quartet, Felix Mendelssohn op 80, Faure Piano Quartet op. 15 Mozart String Quartet kv. 464 | TSM 46th Chamber Music Festival Taos, New Mexico (USA)

2009      Camerata Bern | Erich Höbarth | A. Schoenberg Verklärte Nacht, A. Berg Lyrische Suite
Camerata Bern | Benjamin Schmid | HK Gruber Violinkonzert, P.Tschaikovski Streicherserenade

2009      Premiere “Leviathan” | Sebastian Themessl | Österreichisches Kulturforum Berlin Altonale Hamburg 2010 | mit Ralph Manno (Clarinet), Peter Polzer (Cello), Gottlieb Wallisch (Piano), Gero Mertens (Speaker)

2011      Saxon State Chapel Dresden | Georges Prêtre | F. Schubert Unvollendete, G. Mahler 1. Sinfonie | Semper Oper Dresden
Saxon State Chapel Dresden | Christian Thielemann | J.Brahms 1. Sinfonie, Bruckner 8. Sinfonie | Luzern (KKL), Wien Music Society, Essen Philharmonic, Berlin Philharmonic
Premiere Kurt Weill “Street Scene” | Jonathan Darlington | Semper Oper Dresden

2012      Premiere Alban Berg “Lulu” | Cornelius Meister | Semper Oper Dresden

2013      Chamber Orchestra Basel | Maria João Pires, Trevor Pinnock | Chopin 2. Klavierkonzert, Mozart Jupiter Sinfonie | Paris, Belgrad, Novi Sad, Zagreb, Martigny, Aix en Provence, Essen, Madrid, Zurich

Professor Bernhard Wulff, Mongolia’s cultural ambassador, will serve as the evening’s master of ceremonies.

Bernhard Wulff was born in Hamburg in 1948. He studied conducting, composition and percussion in Hamburg, Freiburg, Basel and Siena and is professor of contemporary music and percussion at the University of Music Freiburg. He worked with some of the major composers of the 20th century, including Stockhausen, Boulez, Nono, Berio and Lachenmann, and founded various contemporary music ensembles in Europe and Latin America.

He has worked as a conductor and guest professor in Europe, South America, the United States (Julliard and Manhattan School, New York), Japan (Geidai University, Tokyo), Ulaanbaatar, Buenos Aires, Santiago de Chile, Mexico City, Hanoi, Bangkok, Beijing, Oslo and Lugano, among other locations. As a composer he has created compositions for various ensembles, along with sound installations and bio-signal projects.

 

As a musicologist he discovered and reconstructed the symphonic works of Viktor Ullmann from the composer’s time in the Theresienstadt concentration camp. Since then, these pieces have been performed by and become part of the repertoire of the world’s major orchestras. Wulff is founder and artistic director of various international music festivals and one of the leading international cultural managers. He was appointed Mongolia’s cultural envoy and was awarded Mongolia’s highly esteemed Nairamdal Medal. Since 1999 has served as artistic director for the well-known Roaring Hooves Music Festival in Mongolia, including concerts for nomads in the Gobi Desert. In 2007, he founded Europe’s first Mongolia Centre in Freiburg. His name has been associated with countless Mongolia-related cultural projects, both in Mongolia and around the world. He was made an honorary citizen of the city of Odessa. He served as a DAAD jury member for 20 years and as vice-rector of his university for 10.

 

His current activities include:

Professor at the University of Music, Freiburg, Germany

Professor at the Conservatorio della Svizzera Italiana, Lugano, Switzerland

President of numerous international music festivals, including in

Odessa, Ukraine (Two Days and Two Nights – since 1995)

Mongolia (Roaring Hooves – since 1999)

Vietnam (Cracking Bamboo – since 2008)

Myanmar (Gongs & Skins – since 2015)

Guest conductor of the National Symphony Orchestra, Buenos Aires, Argentina

Member of the Board of the National Youth Symphony Orchestra (German Music Council)

Concert Programs

  1. Calls of 4 Oirad (4 Oirdiin Uria)
    Bat-Ochir Araanz, Morin khuur Solo
  2. Zundui Khangal (1948 – 1996) – Concerto for Morin Khuur
    Bat-Ochir Araanz, Morin khuur und Odgerel Sampilnorov, Piano
  3. Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy (1809 – 1847) – Violin sonata f-dur first movement
    Lisa Werhahn,Violine und Odgerel Sampilnorov, Piano
  4. J. Chuluun (1928 – 1996) – Variation of 2 traditional song
    Lisa Werhahn,Violine und Odgerel Sampilnorov, Piano
  5. Kh. Bilegjargal (1954 – 2008) – Lama tears “Lodon’s Area”
    Amartuvshin Enkhbat, Baritono und Odgerel Sampilnorov, Piano
  6. Byambasuren  Sharav (*1952) – Dear my Parents (Aav Eej 2 mini)
    Amartuvshin Enkhbat, Baritono und Odgerel Sampilnorov, Piano

PAUSE

PAUSE

  1. Zundui Khangal (1948 – 1996) – “Variation on a theme of Mongolian folk song”
    Odgerel Sampilnorov, Piano Solo
  2. Byambasuren Sharav (*1952) – “Awakened Steppe”
    Odgerel Sampilnorov, Piano Solo
  3. Umberto Giordano (1867 – 1948) – Andrea Chénier “Nemico della Patria”
    Amartuvshin Enkhbat, Baritono und Odgerel Sampilnorov, Piano
  4. Giuseppe Verdi (1813 – 1901) – Rigoletto “Cortigiani, vi razza dannata”
    Amartuvshin Enkhbat, Baritono und Odgerel Sampilnorov, Piano
  5. Sembe Gonchigsumlaa (1915 – 1991) – Trio
    Lisa Werhahn, Violin; Bat-Ochir Araanz, Morin khuur und Odgerel Sampilnorov, Piano

Exhibition

Starting at 6 pm, the Mongolian painter Zazaa will present an exhibition of her works in the Concert Hall foyer, setting the mood for the extraordinary musical experience to come.

Zazaa is a young, modern freelance artist. She lives in Berlin and Ulaanbaatar. She completed her studies in the fine arts at the State University of Art in Ulaanbaatar, receiving her degree in 1999. She then took a number of extended educational trips through several Asian countries, including Korea, Japan and India. In 2002, she decided to experience another side of the international art scene and moved to Berlin, one of Europe’s leading art centres and the home of a highly diverse range of cultural institutions. Since then she has lived in Berlin, alternating with regular stays in her homeland to which she still has a vital connection.

Through her cultural roots, she retains an affinity for the beauty of the human body, which she associates with various elements of Asian mythology. In her pictures, Zazaa reveals her deep conviction that life is eternal movement interpenetrated by time and space.

For Zazaa, the entire cosmos is swathed in an all-encompassing female beauty, in which myriad minute forms converge to create a harmonic whole.

Website: www.zazaa.de

Facebook: www.facebook.com/zazaa.ganbold/

Instagram: www.instagram.com/zazaa_art

Gefördert durch

media partner

Unterstützt von

Mongolian Step präsentiert

Classic meets Steppe

20.10.2017 Konzertsaal der UdK Berlin

„Wenn Klassik auf traditionelle mongolische Musik trifft, dann ist es, als stünden sich ein Lipizzaner aus der Hofreitschule und ein Wildpferd aus der Steppe gegenüber.“

Künstler

Bariton Amartuvshin Enkhbat

Der junge mongolische Bariton Amartuvshin Enkhbat erregte internationales Aufsehen, als er 2015 in Cardiff beim Gesangswettbewerb des BBC den Dame Joan Sutherland-Publikumspreis gewann und zum kulturellen Gesandten der Mongolei ernannt wurde. Nach Auftritten als Rigoletto in der Arena di Verona Opera und dem Teatro San Carlo wird er nun in Berlin seine phänomenale Stimme mit dem unverwechselbaren Timbre erklingen lassen. Zu diesem Moment führte ihn eine außergewöhnliche Geschichte. Seinen warmen Bariton entwickelte Enkhbat bereits als Junge, indem er sich den Obertongesang und die traditionellen mongolischen Long Songs aneignete, bei denen jede Silbe für eine längere Zeit gehalten wird. Die Lieder sind dafür gedacht, die Tiere zu beruhigen, die Pferde und Schafe, die für die Bewohner der mongolischen Steppe noch immer eine große Rolle spielen.

Enkhbat wurde 1986 in der abgelegenen Provinz Sükhbaatar geboren und das erste Publikum für seinen Gesang bestand tatsächlich nicht nur aus den Großeltern, die ihn aufzogen, sondern auch aus Schafen, Ziegen und Pferden. Enkhbat besuchte die Grundschule und die weiterführende…

…Schule in Sükhbaatar. Obwohl es an Förderern und musikalischem Training mangelte, gewann er immer wieder Gesangswettbewerbe auf lokalen Festivals. Dennoch kam ihm in Kindheit und Jugend nie die Idee, eine Karriere als Sänger anzustreben bis er mit 18 Jahren die mongolische Hauptstadt Ulaanbaatar besuchte. Hier wurde er ermutigt, auf einem Jugendfestival aufzutreten und beeindruckte die Jury so sehr mit seinem außergewöhnlichen Gesang, dass eines der Jurymitglieder ihn schließlich dazu brachte, sich für den Opernstudiengang an der University of Arts and Culture in Ulaanbaatar einzuschreiben. Die Universität war erst 1990 gegründet worden und hatte gerade erst damit begonnen, ein Curriculum auszuarbeiten. Damit war auch hier Enkhbats formale Ausbildung sehr begrenzt und er erzählt von sich selbst, dass er sich noch immer selten auf das Lesen von Noten verlässt. Er lernt am Liebsten über das Hören. Wenn er sich auf eine Rolle vorbereitet, dann lauscht er von Mitternacht bis zum Morgengrauen Aufnahmen bekannter Interpreten dieser Rollen auf Youtube, bevor er seine eigene Interpretation der Stücke entwickelt. Und das ihm dies mühelos gelingt und er seinen ganz eigenen Stil hat, konnte er inzwischen im Rahmen zahlreicher internationaler Auftritte in großen Konzert- und Opernhäusern beweisen. Zudem gewann er diverse Preise bei nationalen und internationalen Gesangswettbewerben – so zum Beispiel den Mongolian National Competition for Young Opera Singers (2009, 2. Preis), den internationalen Opernwettbewerb BAIKAL in Ulan-Ude, Russland (2011, 1. Preis), den Tschaikowski-Wettbewerb in St. Petersburg (2011, 2. Preis und Publikumspreis) und den Operalia-Wettbewerb in Beijing, China (2012, 1. Preis).

Zu seinem Repertoire gehören unter anderem die Rollen des Escamillo in Carmen und die des Giorgio Germont in La Traviata. In diesem Jahr gastiert er mit der Titelrolle in Verdis Rigoletto in Kiel, Neapel und Tel Aviv.

Trotz seiner internationalen Karriere singt Enkhbat noch immer gerne für seine Pferde. „Ich singe für meine Tiere auf die gleiche Weise, wie ich an der Staatsoper und am Ballett Theater oder, bald, an der Scala singe.“ Diese Nostalgie und Verbundenheit mit seiner alten Heimat – der weiten mongolischen Steppe, bringt ihm die Inspiration und die Unvoreingenommenheit, mit der er auf seine ganz eigene Art altbekannte westliche Opernstücke interpretiert.

Pianistin Odgerel Sampilnorov

Wenn ihr Klavierspiel einsetzt, dann steht alles andere still. Mit Leichtigkeit haucht die junge Künstlerin auch altbekannten Stücken eine neue Seele ein. Die Inspiration für ihr beflügelndes Spiel nimmt sie aus anderen Kunstformen, besonders aus der Malerei, aber auch aus der Natur und der weiten mongolischen Landschaft.

Odgerel Sampilnorov gehört zu den bekanntesten Pianistinnen ihres Heimatlandes. Die Musikerin wuchs im Ulaanbaatar der 80er Jahre auf – die Mutter Sportlehrerin, der Vater Basketballspieler. Sie entdeckte schon früh ihre Liebe zur Musik und lernte ab ihrem siebten Lebensjahr das Klavierspiel auf einem Russian Upright. Die weitere Geschichte liest sich beinahe wie ein Märchen. Als Jugendliche gab Sampilnorov Klavierunterricht. Der Vater einer ihrer Klavierschüler lud die junge Pianistin in sein Sommercamp ein, damit sie dort für die Gäste spielen konnte. Ihr Klavierspiel verzauberte besonders einen der Gäste des Camps – Gabriele Menegatti, den damaligen italienischen Botschafter in China. Dieser setzte sich bei der italienischen Regierung für ein Stipendium für die begabte junge Frau ein und so konnte Sampilnorov ab 2006…

… am Konservatorium von Perugia studieren. Sie schloss ihre Ausbildung als eine der 16 besten ihres Jahrgangs mit Summa Cum Laude ab. 2010 gewann sie das Luigi Castellani Stipendium, welches als einer der renommiertesten Musikpreise Italiens gilt. Während ihres Studiums nahm sie an Meisterklassen von Professoren wie Sergio Perticaroli, Maxim Mogilevsky, Bart Van Oort, Ivary Ilia, Michele Campanella, Valerij Voskabojnikov, Stefan Boisten and Luca Monti teil. Von 2011 bis 2015 vertiefte Sampilnorov ihre Studien an der internationalen Piano-Akademie „Incontri col Maestro“ in Imola unter der Leitung von Stefano Fiuzzi. Mittlerweile lebt und spielt sie wieder in Ulaanbaatar.

 

Konzerte (Auswahl)

2010 Auftritt als Solistin auf dem historischen Piano Erard mit Begleitung durch ein Kammerorchester in der Nationalgalerie von Umbria
2011 Eingangskonzert der Eröffnungszeremonie des Auditoriums von Perugia „St Francesco al prato“ mit dem Symphonieorchester von Perugia unter der Leitung von Carlo Palleschi
2015 Aufführung von Tchaikovskys Klavierkonzert Nr. 1 mit dem Mongolischen Philharmonie Orchester (Maestro Nyamdash Dashtseren) beim Virtuoso Gala Concert am Opera and Ballet Theatre of Mongolia.
Solokonzerte in Peking, Hong Kong, Rom und weiteren italienischen Städten, Konzerte in Spanien und Deutschland

Pferdekopfgeige Bat-ochir Araanz

Die Pferdekopfgeige lässt die Weite der mongolischen Steppe hörbar werden. Galoppierende Pferde, ein Wiehern, Wind, der sich in den Bergen fängt, schnell ziehende Wolken an einem unendlich scheinenden Himmel – all das verwandelt Araanz Bat-Ochir in wundersame Klänge, wenn er sanft über die Saiten des mongolischen Nationalinstruments streicht.

Der gebürtig aus Ulaanbaatar stammende Bat-Ochir nahm im Jahr 1986 sein Studium am Music and Dance College of Mongolia auf. Doch mit der Morin khuur, der Pferdekopfgeige – diesem traditionellen Instrument, um das sich Sagen und Legenden ranken – kam er bereits viel früher in Berührung. Sein Vater baute selbst Morin khuurs und Bat-Ochir sah ihm zu, wie er die Pferdehaare sorgfältig wusch und kochte und sie verlängerte, um damit die Saiten zu spannen. Er beobachtete den Vater beim Schnitzen der Pferdeköpfe, die den Hals der Geige verzieren. Doch der wirklich magische Moment war für ihn, wenn der Vater auf der selbstgebauten Geige spielte und dem Instrument die schönsten Melodien entlockte. So begann auch Bat-Ochir bereits als Kind auf der Morin khuur zu spielen. Da lag es für ihn Nahe, sich auf dem…

… Music and Dance College auf dieses Instrument zu spezialisieren. Seine Lehrer waren unter anderem M. Baasankhuu und der bekannte Performer Ts. Batchuluun. Bereits vor seinem Abschluss am Music and Dance College of Mongolia wurde Bat-Ochir Leiter des National Morin-Khuur-Ensembles. 1993 spielte er dann als Solist im State Folk Ensemble of Song and Dance. Seit 2002 gibt er sein Wissen und Können als Lehrer für die Pferdekopfgeige am Music and Dance College weiter.

Bat-Ochir gehört zu den namhaftesten Pferdekopfgeigern der Mongolei. Sein Repertoire reicht von traditioneller mongolischer Musik über die Umsetzung klassischer Kompositionen bis hin zu Soul Music. Bat-Ochir beschäftigt sich zudem nicht nur in seinem wunderbaren Spiel, sondern auch in der Theorie mit seinem einzigartigen Instrument. Er hat nicht nur zahlreiche Alben veröffentlicht, sondern auch wissenschaftliche Abhandlungen über die Pferdekopfgeige verfasst. Daher wird der Musiker und Musiktheoretiker am 25.10.2017 zusätzlich zum Konzert an der UdK einen Vortrag über Entstehung und Entwicklung der Morin khuur an der Humboldtuniversität Berlin halten.

Konzerte (Auswahl)

  • 1992 Konzert an der Mongolischen Staatsphilharmonie
  • 2008 Konzert an der mongolischen Staatsoper, gemeinsames Konzert mit dem Japanischen Harfenspieler Takeo Junko und mit Maesto Tuulaikhuu
  • Über fünf Solo-Konzerte in Japan zur Vorstellung der Morin khuur und des Kehlkopfgesangs
  • 2013 Solo-Konzert an der Tokyo Art University

Solo- und Kammer-Musik-Konzerte in Japan, Russland, China, Taiwan, der Tschechischen Republik, Polen, Deutschland, Frankreich, Belgien, den Niederlanden, Usbekistan, Kirgisistan, den USA und Korea.

Violinistin Lisa Werhahn

Für die gebürtige Berlinerin gehört das Geigespielen ganz selbstverständlich zu ihrem Leben. Diese natürliche Verbundenheit mit ihrem Instrument spiegelt sich in ihrem ausdrucksvollen Spiel und ihrer Vielseitigkeit wieder. Werhahn ist eine gefragte Interpretin für zeitgenössische und klassische Kammermusik. Doch ihr Repertoire reicht weit über diese Musikformen hinaus.

Geigenunterricht erhielt die junge Musikerin zunächst bei Tomasz Tomaszewski. Später studierte sie an der UdK Berlin bei Isabelle Faust und in Bern bei Benjamin Schmid. An der Hochschule Franz Liszt in Weimar absolvierte sie bei Friedemann Eichhorn ein Aufbaustudium, das sie mit Auszeichnung abschloss. Zudem war sie Stipendiatin der Alfred Töpfer Stiftung für Concerto 21.

Werhahn war Mitglied des Lucern Festival Academy Orchestra, wo sie unter Pierre Boulez spielte. In der Saison 2011/2012 war sie als eine der zweiten Violinen der Sächsischen Staatskapeele Dresden engagiert.

Seit 2015 ist sie Mitglied im KNM Streichquartett, einer…

… Formation des Kammerensembles Neue Musik Berlin. Tourneen mit verschiedenen Ensembles führten sie ins europäische Ausland, Amerika, Brasilien, Japan, Korea und Indien.Werhahn ist zudem ein Gründungsmitglied des schwedischen Ensembles o/modernt kammarorkester unter der Leitung von Hugo Ticciati. Das Ensemble tritt mit nahezu abenteuerlich vielfältigen und gerade deshalb ausgesprochen interessanten Konzertprogrammen in Schweden sowie international auf. Das Repertoire reicht dabei von Arrangements mittelalterlicher Motetten über Bach, Werke der klassischen Moderne und folkloristischer Musik bis hin zu Sting, minimal music und freier Improvisation. Renommierte Solisten wie Anne Sofie von Otter, Nils Landgren und Evelyn Glennie haben bereits mit dem Ensemble gemeinsam konzertiert.

Im Rahmen des März Musik 2017 trat Werhahn gemeinsam mit Theodor Flindell mit dem Stück Love Song von Alvin Lucier im Radialsystem Berlin auf und im Juni wird sie das Violinkonzert der serbischen Komponistin Snezana Nesic in Hannover uraufführen.

Neben ihrer Tätigkeit als Violinistin arbeitet Lisa Wehrhahn mit Kindern und Jugendlichen in verschiedenen Musikprojekten zusammen. Als Initiatorin der „Experimentellen Musikvermittlung“ realisierte sie bereits viele Projekte für Kinder und Jugendliche so zum Beispiel beim Musikfest Bern 2009 sowie an Berliner Schulen.

Diese Arbeit ist für die Musikerin eine Quelle der Inspiration. Durch den unvoreingenommenen Umgang der Kinder mit der Musik, ihre Offenheit und Neugier, kann die eigene Herangehensweise an die Klangwelten immer wieder in Frage gestellt werden und die Kinder werden zu Schülern und Lehrern gleichermaßen.

Konzerte (Auswahl)

2005      huddersfield contemporary music festival, Grieghalle Bergen | BIT20 Ensemble (als Gastkonzertmeisterin) | HK Gruber | Lasse Thoressen | Lop, Lokk og Linjer, HK Gruber Frankenstein

2005+2007 Konzertmeisterin der Sommer Oper Bamberg | Till Fabian Weser E T A Hoffmann Theater Bamberg | Puccini TOSCA, IL TABARRO, Leoncavallo IL BAJAZZO

2008      B. Bartók 6. Streichquartett, Felix Mendelssohn op 80, Faure Klavierquartett op. 15 Mozart Streichquartett kv. 464 | TSM 46th Chamber Music Festival Taos, New Mexico (USA)

2009      Camerata Bern | Erich Höbarth | A. Schoenberg Verklärte Nacht, A. Berg Lyrische Suite
Camerata Bern | Benjamin Schmid | HK Gruber Violinkonzert, P.Tschaikovski Streicherserenade

2009      Uraufführung „Leviathan“ | Sebastian Themessl | Österreichisches Kulturforum Berlin Altonale Hamburg 2010 | mit Ralph Manno (Klarinette), Peter Polzer (Cello), Gottlieb Wallisch (Klavier), Gero Mertens (Sprecher)

2011      Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden | Georges Prêtre | F. Schubert Unvollendete, G. Mahler 1. Sinfonie | Semper Oper Dresden
Sächsischen Staatskapelle Dresden | Christian Thielemann | J.Brahms 1. Sinfonie, Bruckner 8. Sinfonie | Luzern (KKL), Wien Musikverein, Essen Philharmonie, Berlin Philharmonie
Premiere Kurt Weill „Street Scene“ | Jonathan Darlington | Semper Oper Dresden

2012      Premiere Alban Berg „Lulu“ | Cornelius Meister | Semper Oper Dresden

2013      kammerorchesterbasel | Maria João Pires, Trevor Pinnock | Chopin 2. Klavierkonzert, Mozart Jupiter Sinfonie | Paris, Belgrad, Novi Sad, Zagreb, Martigny, Aix en Provence, Essen, Madrid, Zürich

Durch den Abend führt Sie der Kulturbotschafter der Mongolei Professor Bernhard Wulff.

Bernhard Wulff wurde 1948 in Hamburg geboren. Er studierte Dirigieren, Komposition und Schlagzeug in Hamburg, Freiburg, Basel und Siena und ist Professor für zeitgenössische Musik und Percussion an der Musikhochschule Freiburg. Er arbeitete zusammen mit den wichtigen Komponisten des 20. Jahrhunderts, wie Stockhausen, Boulez, Nono, Berio, Lachenmann und vielen anderen und gründete verschiedene zeitgenössische Musikensembles in Europa und Lateinamerika.

Als Dirigent und Gastprofessor arbeitete er in Europa, Südamerika, USA (Julliard und Manhattan School, New York), Japan (Geidai University, Tokyo) Ulan Bator, Buenos Aires, Santiago de Chile, Mexiko City, Hanoi, Bangkok, Beijing, Oslo, Lugano und andere. Als Komponist realisierte er – neben Kompositionen für verschiedene Ensembles – Klanginstallationen und Bio-Signal-Projekte.
Als Musikwissenschaftler entdeckte und rekonstruierte er die symphonischen Werke von Viktor Ullmann aus seiner Zeit im Konzentrationslager Theresienstadt. Seitdem sind diese Arbeiten wieder auf der Bühne und im Repertoire großer Orchester auf der ganzen Welt. Bernhard Wulff ist Gründer und künstlerischer Leiter verschiedener internationaler Musikfestivals und einer der international führenden Kulturmanager. Er wurde zum Kulturgesandten der Mongolei ernannt und erhielt die hoch angesehene Nairamdal-Medaille aus der Mongolei. Für die Mongolei betreut er als künstlerischer Leiter seit 1999 das berühmte Musikfestival „ROARING HOOVES“, mit Konzerten für Nomaden in der Wüste Gobi. 2007 gründete er das erste Mongolei Zentrum Europas in Freiburg. Zahllose mongolische Kulturprojekte in der Mongolei und aller Welt sind mit seinem Namen verbunden. Er ist Ehrenbürger der Stadt Odessa. 20 Jahre war er DAAD-Jurymitglied, 10 Jahre Vize-Rektor seiner Universität.

Seine aktuellen Tätigkeiten sind:
Professor der Hochschule für Musik, Freiburg Deutschland
Professor am Conservatorio della Svizzera Italiana, Lugano, Schweiz
Präsident von mehreren internationalen Musikfestivals in
Odessa, Ukraine (zwei Tage und zwei Nächte – seit 1995)
Mongolei (Roaring Hooves – seit 1999)
Vietnam (Cracking Bamboo seit 2008)
Myanmar (Gongs & Skins seit 2015)
Gastdirigent des Nationalen Sinfonie Orchesters Buenos Aires, Argentinien
Vorstandsmitglied des Nationalen Jugend-Symfony-Orchesters (Deutscher Musikrat)

Konzertprogramm

  1. Calls of 4 Oirad (4 Oirdiin Uria)
    Bat-Ochir Araanz, Morin khuur Solo
  2. Zundui Khangal (1948 – 1996) – Concerto for Morin Khuur
    Bat-Ochir Araanz, Morin khuur und Odgerel Sampilnorov, Piano
  3. Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy (1809 – 1847) – Violin sonata f-dur first movement
    Lisa Werhahn,Violine und Odgerel Sampilnorov, Piano
  4. J. Chuluun (1928 – 1996) – Variation of 2 traditional song
    Lisa Werhahn,Violine und Odgerel Sampilnorov, Piano
  5. Kh. Bilegjargal (1954 – 2008) – Lama tears „Lodon’s Area“
    Amartuvshin Enkhbat, Baritono und Odgerel Sampilnorov, Piano
  6. Byambasuren  Sharav (*1952) – Dear my Parents (Aav Eej 2 mini)
    Amartuvshin Enkhbat, Baritono und Odgerel Sampilnorov, Piano

PAUSE

PAUSE

  1. Zundui Khangal (1948 – 1996) – „Variation on a theme of Mongolian folk song“
    Odgerel Sampilnorov, Piano Solo
  2. Byambasuren Sharav (*1952) – „Awakened Steppe“
    Odgerel Sampilnorov, Piano Solo
  3. Umberto Giordano (1867 – 1948) – Andrea Chénier „Nemico della Patria“
    Amartuvshin Enkhbat, Baritono und Odgerel Sampilnorov, Piano
  4. Giuseppe Verdi (1813 – 1901) – Rigoletto „Cortigiani, vi razza dannata“
    Amartuvshin Enkhbat, Baritono und Odgerel Sampilnorov, Piano
  5. Sembe Gonchigsumlaa (1915 – 1991) – Trio
    Lisa Werhahn, Violin; Bat-Ochir Araanz, Morin khuur und Odgerel Sampilnorov, Piano

Ausstellung

Ab 18:00 Uhr - die mongolische Malerin Zazaa stimmt mit einer Ausstellung ihrer Bilder im Foyer des Konzertsaals auf das außergewöhnliche Klangerlebnis ein.

Zazaa ist eine moderne, junge und freischaffende Künstlerin. Sie lebt in Berlin und Ulaanbaatar.
Das Studium der Freien Kunst absolvierte sie erfolgreich mit Diplom im Jahr 1999 an der staatlichen Kunsthochschule Ulaanbaatar. Anschließend unternahm sie ausgedehnte Bildungsreisen durch mehrere asiatische Länder, unter anderem Korea, Japan und Indien. Dann, ab 2002, folgte sie dem Ruf des internationalen Kunstgeschehens und ließ sich in der Kunstkapitale Europas, der deutschen Hauptstadt Berlin nieder. In dieser von vielfältigsten Kulturinstitutionen durchtränkten Stadt lebt sie seitdem – unterbrochen von regelmäßigen Aufenthalten in der Heimat, der sie stets verbunden geblieben ist.

Sie bleibt durch ihre kulturelle Verwurzelung der Schönheit des menschlichen Körpers zugewandt, den sie mit vielfältigen Elementen aus der asiatischen Mythologie verknüpft. Zazaa zeigt in ihren Bildern zudem ihre tiefe Überzeugung, dass das Leben aus ewiger Bewegung und gegenseitiger Durchdringung von Zeit und Raum besteht.

Überstrahlt wird für sie dieser ganze Kosmos durch die allumfassende weibliche Schönheit, worin sich Myriaden kleinteiliger Formen zu einem harmonischen Ganzen fügen.

Webseite: www.zazaa.de

Facebook: www.facebook.com/zazaa.ganbold/

Instagram: www.instagram.com/zazaa_art

Gefördert durch

Medienpartner

Unterstützt von